2nd day in New York - Reisverslag uit Guatemala-stad, Guatemala van Pieter Konings - WaarBenJij.nu 2nd day in New York - Reisverslag uit Guatemala-stad, Guatemala van Pieter Konings - WaarBenJij.nu

2nd day in New York

Door: Pieter

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Pieter

15 Juni 2009 | Guatemala, Guatemala-stad

I'm writing this the evening of my second day in NYC, but I'll include it in my next blog (that's at least what I planned to do, but I'm gonna post it separately). Today I went to downtown Manhattan, the southern part. First I went to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. Especially Ellis Island, the place where immigrants to the US entered the country, was very interesting. It was nice to read actual stories about immigrants and to hear the people around me talk about their grandparents who followed the same route (sometimes they recognised names). Unfortunately the view from the boat was spoilt by the clouds, which stayed there for the rest of the day, it may have made the view a bit more mystical, but overall it would have been nicer to be able to see the complete buildings and not just the bottom. Then I continued to the financial district, which was nice to be there as finance student. Realising that I was at one of the most influential places of the world, I found it quite impressive. Also impressive was Ground Zero, because although it actually just looks like a big construction site, it was of course the stage for one of the most important events of the 21st century. Then I continued walking North, passing the Brooklyn bridge, China Town and Little Italy, where I had some pizza. Finally I walked past Times Square for one last time to take the subway back to the hotel.

So, if I have given the impression I didn't like New York that much in my first blog, I would like to rectify that and say that I really enjoyed New York and I'll definitely go back, but maybe not very soon

  • 16 Juni 2009 - 11:30

    Mum:

    Het lijkt vast al weer lang geleden, New York...
    Je hebt me wel nieuwsgierig gemaakt. Ik kijk uit naar je volgende blog!

  • 16 Juni 2009 - 20:37

    Marjan Bouwsma.:

    Het is een hele tijd als je ervoor staat,maar de tijd vliegt om. Zeker als het goed gaat. We blijven je verhaal volgen,al moet ik wel even in het Engels omschakelen.Sybren zit niet zo gek ver bij je vandaan. Al is het nog een eind fietsen naar Peru!!Pieter we wensen je een hele goede tijd daar in Guatamala,en take care of yourself!!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Guatemala, Guatemala-stad

Pieter

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 107
Totaal aantal bezoekers 19959

Voorgaande reizen:

10 Juni 2009 - 14 Augustus 2010

Stage in Guatemala

16 September 2007 - 16 Januari 2008

Uitwisseling naar Istanbul

Landen bezocht: